Consumer Protection Act

What is the Consumer Protection Act?

The act aims to:

  • Promote a fair, accessible, and sustainable marketplace for consumer products and services.
  • Establish national norms and standards to ensure consumer protection.
  • Make provision for improved standards of consumer information, to prohibit unfair marketing and business practices.
  • Promote reasonable consumer behavior.
  • Promote a consistent legislative and enforcement framework relating to transactions and agreements.
  • Establish the national consumer commission.
  • Replace, in a new and easier manner, provisions from various acts, including the Consumer Affairs Act, Trade Practices Act, Sales and Service Matters Act, Price Control Act and Merchandise Marks Act.

What are the consumer’s rights?

The act has reinforced 9 rights for the consumer:

  • Your right to equality in the consumer market and protection against discriminatory marketing practices
  • Your right to privacy
  • Your right to choose
  • Your right to disclosure of information
  • Your right to fair and responsible marketing
  • Your right to fair and honest dealing
  • Your right to fair, just, and reasonable terms and conditions
  • Your right to fair value, good quality and safety and
  • Your right to accountability by suppliers

For Any Additional Information Please See The Links Below